Image © Rhodes Guide / RhodesGuide.com

Lachania (Lahania), Rhodos

Zwei Platanen, vier Wassertröge, sechs Tische... und ungestörte Ruhe. Um Sie herum stehen die niedrigen weißen Häuser des Dorfes mit ihren blauen Türen und Fenstern, ihren Ziegeldächern und geschnitzten Steintoren.

Das Dorf Lachania liegt am Fuße der Berge, die das Innere der Insel einnehmen, und bietet einen Panoramablick auf die Täler, die sich bis zum Meer erstrecken. Es ist vielleicht das schönste Dorf auf Rhodos und eine totale Überraschung für jeden Besucher - ein wahres Postkartenmotiv, ein Ort der absoluten Ruhe und Harmonie. Viele der gut erhaltenen traditionellen Häuser wurden von Ausländern oder Menschen aus der Stadt Rhodos gekauft, die das Dorf zu schätzen wussten und sich hier niedergelassen haben, wodurch eine junge und künstlerische Gemeinschaft entstanden ist. Das traditionelle Café unter der Platane auf dem Dorfplatz bietet den ganzen Tag über kühlen Schatten.

Lachania (Lahania) © Rhodes Guide / RhodesGuide.com

An der Straße gibt es ein weiteres Café, in dem man interessante Gespräche führen und eines der hervorragenden Omeletts des Tender probieren kann. Auf dem Dorfplatz von Lachania wurden 1989 einige Szenen für den Film "High Season of forty" (mit Jacqueline Bisset und Irene Papa) gedreht, der größtenteils in Lindos spielt.

Wenn Sie Lachania verlassen, sollten Sie bis nach Mesanagros weiterfahren, einer winzigen Bauerngemeinde, die nur einmal im Jahr, am Sonntag nach Ostern, während ihres Hauptfestes richtig zum Leben erwacht.

Lachania (Lahania) © Rhodes Guide / RhodesGuide.com

Lachania ist auch ein hervorragender Ausgangspunkt für Besuche der unberührten Strände und Landschaften im Süden von Rhodos, von wo aus man Sehenswürdigkeiten wie Lindos und Monolithos leicht erreichen kann. Autos können in der benachbarten Stadt Gennadi gemietet werden, wo es auch Einrichtungen wie Post, Apotheke usw. gibt. Es gibt auch eine regelmäßige Busverbindung zwischen Gennadi und der Stadt Rhodos.

In Lachania gibt es viele kleine Kirchen, die über die Landschaft verstreut sind und einen Besuch wert sind: Kloster der Jungfrau Zoodochos Pigi (18.-19. Jh.) in Plimmiri, erbaut auf den Ruinen eines römischen Gebäudes Heiliger Johannes der Vorläufer (19. Jh.) Heilige Irene (16. Jh., Friedhof) Heiliger Lukas (19. Jh.) Heiliger Georg (19. Jh.)

Themenbereiche

Ähnliche Beiträge

Das erste, was man von den Einheimischen über dieses Dorf hört, sind die Türen der Häuser: in leuchtenden, kräftigen Farben (Ρot, Türkis, Βlau und Γelb) gestrichen, aus Holz oder Eisen, mit Reliefs oder geschnitzten Motiven, umgeben von eleganten steinernen Vorbauten mit Bögen, die sich an die Säulen anschließen - die Türen sind zweifellos das Schönste, was das Dorf zu bieten hat.

Topics: Villages

Lesen Sie mehr überKoskinou

Wenn Sie in Eleousa ankommen, befinden Sie sich in einem kleinen Dorf, das von Platanen umgeben ist, inmitten einer der grünsten Gegenden der Insel, mit reiner Landluft und dem Rauschen von fließendem Wasser.

Topics: Villages

Lesen Sie mehr überEleousa

Die mittelalterliche Burg, die eine Aussicht auf das Meer in Richtung Chalki bietet, heißt Sie in der Gegend von Kritinia willkommen.

Topics: Villages

Lesen Sie mehr überKritinia




Lachania (Lahania) Bewertungen und Kommentare

Klicken Sie hier, um Ihre Bewertung hinzuzufügen!

Never mind that it's less picturesque! At Pappas Georges you get a welcome as if you were a long lost friend, and as for the food, it is fresh local produce of excellent quality cooked to perfection. The whole experience is worth the trip to Rhodes alone. We look forward to our next visit.

Kommentiert von Don Davies-Evans August 12, 2009

Lassen Sie uns wissen, was Sie über Lachania (Lahania) denken. - Ihre Meinung zählt!
Bewerten Sie diesen Beitrag oder Ort (optional)

Feedback

Image © Rhodes Guide / RhodesGuide.com

Lachania (Lahania)

Two plane trees, four water troughs, six tables... and undisturbed peace and quiet. Around you are the low white houses of the village with their blue doors and windows, their tile roofs and carved stone gateways.

The village of Lachania is situated at the foot of the mountains that occupy the interior of the island, offering a panoramic view of the valleys stretching up to the sea. This is perhaps the most beautiful village on Rhodes and a total surprise to any visitor - a true postcard setting, a scene of absolute tranquility and harmony. Many of the well maintained traditional houses have been bought by foreigners or by people from the town of Rhodes who have been discerning enough to appreciate the village and have settled here, creating a youthful and artistic community. The traditional cafe under the plane tree at the village square offers cool shade throughout the day.

Lachania (Lahania) © Rhodes Guide / RhodesGuide.com

There is another cafe on the road, where there is interesting conversation and a chance to sample one of the tender's great omelets. Lachania village square was used for filming a number of scenes for the 1989 movie "High Season of forty" (with Jacqueline Bisset and Irene Papa), most of which is set in Lindos.

On leaving Lachania you should carry on as far as Mesanagros, a tiny farming community which really only comes to life once a year during its main festival, on the Sunday after Easter.

Lachania (Lahania) © Rhodes Guide / RhodesGuide.com

Lachania is also an excellent starting point for visits to the unspoiled beaches and countryside of Southern Rhodes, with easy access to such landmark sites as Lindos and Monolithos. Cars can be hired at the neighboring town of Gennadiwhere one may also come find such facilities such as Post Office, Pharmacy etc. There is also a regular bus connection between Gennadi and the City of Rhodes.

There are many small churches scattered throughout the countryside at Lachania that are worth visiting: Monastery of Virgin Zoodochos Pigi (18th - 19th century) in Plimmiri, built over the ruins of a roman building Saint John the Precursor (19th century) Saint Irene (16th century, cemetery) Saint Luke (19th century) Saint George (19th century)

Map location for Lachania (Lahania)

Lachania (Lahania) Rhodes Greece map

Looking for things to do in Rhodes?

Don't miss out on great experiences!
Check out the following offers for things to do and activities in Rhodes!

Looking for a hotel on Rhodes?

Hey! we got some hot rental deals for your vacation!
Check the following deals and special offers for hotels on Rhodes!
Booking.com


Reviews & comments

Never mind that it's less picturesque! At Pappas Georges you get a welcome as if you were a long lost friend, and as for the food, it is fresh local produce of excellent quality cooked to perfection. The whole experience is worth the trip to Rhodes alone. We look forward to our next visit.

Commented by Don Davies-Evans August 12, 2009

Add your review about Lachania (Lahania)
* How likely would you recommend this

Explore topics & interests
Topic-related articles

Psinthos

Very close to Faliraki is village Psinthos. Characteristics are the running waters in fountain Fasouli and the age long plane trees, which reveal the beauty of Rhodes countryside.

Topics: Villages

Salakos

Once famous for the wooden chairs produced in the village, Salakos now gets used to tourism, although its 600 inhabitants still keep up their old traditions.

Topics: Villages

Lardos

The beautiful and friendly village of Lardos, is on the sunny south east side of the island, within easy reach to Lindos Town. Lardos offers all the facilities you would expect of a modern holiday destination. There is a doctors surgery, dentist, pharmacy, hairdresser, exchange facilities, international telephone network, news agent, car, motorbike, and bicycle hire.

Topics: Villages

Feedback