Follow RhodesGuide.com Pinterest
Dodecanese Travel Guide | Rhodes Photo gallery | Rhodes E-cards
Search RhodesGuide.com:  
Rhodes Guide - Travel Guide for Rhodes Rhodos Rodos Greece
Rent a Car on Rhodes Greece
Rhodes Greece
 Travel Guide & Info
Guide Sponsors
Hotels & Rooms
Restaurants
Rent a Car or M/bike
Sports & Recreation

Haraki (Charaki)



What our members and visitors say
Best holiday
posted on January 13, 2014 by aisha&bob&chelsie
Best holiday I've been on without a doubt. Its my
4th time back on July 24th 14, so excited!
We love it!
posted on October 27, 2013 by Jan Whymark
Just returned home from our 42nd visit to Haraki, guess what ? we love it !!!
Great holiday
posted on September 16, 2012 by Rose @ tony Gilmore
Went to Haraki in July 2012 had a brilliant holiday so much we are going again in October can't wait lovely people cheap to eat & drink very relaxed & quiet !!!






Haraki = home :)
posted on May 15, 2012 by tom bainbridge
Going back for the tenth time in July.
feels just like home
Heavenly Haraki
posted on November 13, 2011 by Barry
We came back from our 11th visit to Haraki and already booked for next august, 2012.... All this time of keeping this little secret to ourselves must stop because the place is dying and we can't let that happen.
Loving it
posted on July 30, 2011 by Jan
Third visit to Haraki and still loving it. Da Vinci's apartments are great and Bottoms Up the place to eat. Swimming at 7.30 in the morning is great and watching the sun set while sipping cocktails is even better.
Already planning our return next year
posted on July 21, 2011 by Jan and Andy
Just completed our 3rd visit to this wonderful place - friendly people, good food and weather, had a fantastic holiday again - already planning our return next year :)
Looking forward to our 3rd visit!
posted on March 6, 2011 by Lynne & keith
Looking forward to our 3rd visit (in June) to Haraki in 3 years!!
Love the laid back atmosphere and the friendly locals! No hectic night life, but some really good restuarants and bars.
Hope Helen and John are still there, at the restuarant below Porto Haraki studiios...
I really want to go back next year
posted on September 28, 2010 by Gary
Wow what can I say just came back on Sunday from Haraki. Absolutely superb and very relaxing. Stayed in Porto studios fantastic view of the bay watching the sunrise at 0715 every morning I felt so chilled no ferral rowdy teenagers just great locals and other visitors. Only stayed a week wish it would have been longer. Take a good book and prepare to put on weight. If you want to visit the sandy beach you have a long walk unless you ask the locals for the short cut, you can also check out the fort, providing you have a head for heights and are steady on your feet. All the resturants looked superb, we ended up eating in the same one for a majority of the time. I really want to go back next year.
HEAVENLY HARAKI
posted on September 7, 2010 by The Likely's
We have been visiting the heavenly Haraki for 7 years now... everything about the place is covered in charm and fantastic friendly people. We have come to know so many people out there and are always welcomed and my children are safe. Can't wait to go back out for a 3rd time this year in October to see everyone at Zografos, Argo, Simons Car Hire and Costa & Elena... there are so many places to rent out, just catch a flight and someone will find somewhere for you to stay... my 2nd home retreat...
Haraki
posted on August 21, 2010 by Jan and Andy
Just had another 2 weeks in wonderful Haraki (otherwise known as heaven). Thanks to Despina, family and staff they were terrific and Bottom's Up is the place to be. Da Vinci's apartment was fabulous, so clean and new. Already booked for next year and cannot wait.
Love Haraki
posted on June 30, 2010 by Helen + Roger
Arrived back from Haraki on sunday morning, had another wonderful holiday and hope to go back in Sept. Its time to start telling people of our little gem of a place as it was so quiet this year, they need more tourists if the business' there are going to survive.
Can't wait to go back.
posted on March 30, 2010 by beatrice henshaw
Haraki is heaven on earth, no booming bars, no young brits showing all they've got no mc donalds,no screamnig and shouting in the streets, just good food, the nicest people on earth, a warm wecome every where you go. I have never been to a place where time does'nt matter until I came here. Everyone you see in Haraki has a smile for you, locals and tourists alike. You can go out and stay out until four or five in the morning,and still stroll home as if it's half eleven. Don,t get me wrong laid back and chilled it may be but that does'nt mean you can't have a good laugh, in fact we've met some of the funniest people, the greeks have a fabulous sense of humour, and we can't wait to go back.
Coming back
posted on January 20, 2010 by Jan and Andy
We are coming back to Haraki this year and counting down the days. Cannot wait to lay on the beach, swim in the sea and have cold drinks and good food at Bottoms Up. First time my hubby has returned somewhere but it was his first choice for a holiday, looking forward to August.
Coming back
posted on January 20, 2010 by Jan and Andy
Returning again to Haraki and look forward to the sun, sea and lazing on the beach and drinks and food at Bottoms Up, cannot wait till August and counting the days!
Prices in Haraki
posted on October 6, 2009 by Jules
We are considering going back to Haraki in 2010 as we loved it so much last year. Really beautiful resort with lovely people. Can anyone tell me if the cost of beer and food has gone up much since 2008?
Stop telling
posted on August 17, 2008 by Gary
Stop telling everyone how great Haraki is. let's keep it special for those of us in the know!
Wonderful Haraki
posted on July 29, 2008 by Jan
Just spent 2 wonderful weeks in Haraki, it is our first visit and won't be our last. Bottoms Up is the place to drink and thanks to Despina and her family and staff for making our holiday one to remember for a long time.
Wonderful
posted on July 22, 2008 by amanda
I am in bottoms up in wonderful haraki sipping hazelnut freddoccino with despina its clean, hot and I have found my heaven, its our 10th year here and will have many more visits, there is a beautiful fish taverna called paradosiako its the freshest fish i have ever had.
I would love to say its hell and keep it all to myself but how can i its perfect in everyway!!! must go back to the coffee, the sun and the sea. so stop reading the review and go and book Haraki !!!
Love the place
posted on June 30, 2008 by Len & Joyce Owen
We just love the place & it's people & highly recommend "Zagfrafos" for a warm welcome & their excellent food.
Their standards have remained high all the years we have been visiting the resort.
We love Haraki
posted on June 18, 2008 by paul and vickie
We love Haraki and have not been able to get over this year. The hospitality of jacks bar is so great, hi to Jack, paula, anthony, manny and marie oh and saggy. Hope to see you soon, lots of love to fedra and savas also, miss you all. Last year we took all our children and they made freinds with all the children who live their, they learned alittle greek and loved eating the crepes. We cant wait to come back sipping cold refreshments on the beach and having friendly chats with all the many people who make our holiday so good. Its so nice to come back and see the same faces that remember us. was good to see sofagals in his own restuarant and doing well, what a nice guy. Anybody going on holiday there will find it so relaxing, friendly, hot ,and must go to agatha beach, fantastic sndy beach, shallow for miles so its safe for kids, water sports and refreshments and lots and lots of family fun. One day soon, we will met again, dont know when but we are looking forward to it. xxxxxxxx
Haraki, a wonderful place
posted on June 14, 2008 by ridley oldham
As I sat watching the moon come up with my red wine, I said "when i get back, i shall say, its unfriendly, expensive, and has bad weather". this was because I wanted to keep it to my self! as the wine wore off and I got home I told all and sundry how fantastic Haraki actually was. after 13 years of crete@2 times a year, I needed a change! I am going back because in May I got so chilled out I didnt do half I had planned. keep your donkeys in lindos. too busy. and pefkos? purpose built I think for tourists. On my last day I got a date! with manolis from the restaurant opposite alia 1. all he said was "come back! we sit together! we drink beer!" then he returned to making those beautiful ribs on his grill. some things you just cant explain to people, and that moment was one. Anyway I promised... and you cant break a promise. wonderful.
Best place ever
posted on May 25, 2008 by tania
Haraki is the best place i ve ever been...
Accomodations
Bottom up for a drink
Chef tommys to eat
Paradise Found
posted on April 29, 2008 by Gwen and Ian
We going back to paradise in july for the 12th time and then again in Sept. to relax on the sun drenched beach on one of mike and athena's sun loungers, then as the sun leaves the beach sit outside mike's bar with a nice cool drink. later in the evening enjoy fabulous greek cuisine at costa's next door to mikes bar where mike, athena and their two boys will look after you for the evening and into the early morning, by the way this is the perfect place to watch the sunrise, then off to bed to get some sleep so that we can wake up to do it all again!
What a fantastc little place!
posted on April 10, 2008 by maurice
What a fantastc little place Haraki is. Havent been for a few years but remember it being a nice quiet relaxing place good clean beach. Best wishes to jack and paula at jacks bar we had some fantastic late nights good company and lots of laughs hope to return again sometime in the near future.
beautiful haraki
posted on December 31, 2007 by Christine
We went to haraki this summer we had a wonderful time in Bottoms Up cocktail bar a lovely Australian girl named Debbie, made us so welcome! The beach was fantastic and we spent most of our time on Agathi and Haraki beach. Thanks to Debbie for such a wonderful time and her lovely english breakfasts. Definetly go to Haraki and Bottoms Up!
THANKS TO ALL!
posted on November 22, 2007 by Michael Charles Witts
THANKS TO ALL OF THE HARAKI RESTURANTS AND SNACK BARS YOU ALL ARE VERY GOOD AND FRIENDLY, AND ALSO A SPECIAL THANK YOU TO THE OWNERS OF BOTTOMS UP SEE YOU NEXT JUNE.

ROSEMARY & MIKE
Loved the place!
posted on November 19, 2007 by Bronwen
We went to Haraki twice this year and have already booked for next year. Loved the place, everything is so easy and laid back. Choice of sand or pebbles on main beach. Local bus goes to Lindos and Rhodes town. Nice man in Exchange can organise trips cheaper than travel reps. He is not always open so try not to run out of money, or be prepared to travel to Lindos for more. Recommend Despina at Bottoms Up, very friendly and helpful lady and great breakfasts; Paradiso for good food and lovely people (baby Despina is a delight); and Costas, again good food and friendly guy, nothing is too much trouble.
Most Relaxing Holiday
posted on October 6, 2007 by Martin & Paul
Returned from Haraki on Wednesday. Most relaxing holiday in 19 years of travelling to the Med. We go twice a year to differnt Islands of Greece.
Every Taverna gives good value - My only complaint - The meals are too big!! HONESTLY!
Lovely people, lovely holiday makers - many return again...
On the list to return too...
Two weeks of bliss
posted on September 28, 2007 by Jane & Karl
September 07 just had two weeks of bliss fantastic holiday very peaceful during the day but wish the dogs would'nt bark so much at night. Stayed in the Porto Haraki Studios, small but very clean, had a back view not as nice as a sea view it need tidying up on the back road but we enjoyed it so much we will be returning (we didn't spend very much time in the room anyway) Despina in Bottoms up bar is very nice and her breakfast is super. We drank the local beer at 1.5 euros what more could you ask for.
Charaki the best
posted on May 29, 2007 by john
The best taverna in my opinion - Marias - low price and basic Greek cooking but with very tasty fish dishes and nothing is too much trouble.
Haraki paradise
posted on April 1, 2007 by jan & chris
Haraki is our second home twice a year for fourteen years
Jack was only a youngster how thing have changed but still the best place to be if you want to make good friends like we have over the years we have a reunion every year in england jack & paula arrive every time looking forward to this years hols great.
Loved it
posted on March 17, 2007 by wayne churchman
My partner and I have been to Haraki twice so far and loved it so much we're planning to go there this September for our honeymoon.
If you want peace and quiet this is for you, with fantastic Greek food and cheap drinks it can't be beaten.
The beach is uncrowded and the weather perfect, we usually go September onwards when its a comfortable 80 degrees. The locals are very friendly and Pefkos and Lindos aren't far away if you fancy a day out.
Looking forward to going back
posted on February 26, 2007 by alan,siobhan, james.
we went to Haraki Aug 2006 and stayed the the Alia Apartments, the only place in Haraki with a pool. we could not of asked for a better place, so relaxing and laid back, only stayed a week wish it had been longer. Cocktails and dreams the best place for drinks ans ice cream. looking forward to going back.
Barry & Jill
posted on November 25, 2006 by morrison
My wife found this pace 3 years ago. Took me back and was worried I would'nt like it. Boy, was she ever wrong. After years of The Ballearics & Canaries this is the place I want to be. So next year it's five weeks. Look out Jack & Paula, we're coming back. It's the most wonderful place I've ever been to. Ian & June were right.
Rhodes paradise
posted on November 5, 2006 by Bill Caven
The sun was gently rubbing its eyes for yet another scorcher in the Rhodes paradise of Haraki. The fact was clearly lost on my good friend Georgious from Argo as we shared a whisky in Jack's bar and put the world to rights. Heaven, I think! Having spent a lifetime travelling the globe, this was it. Somewhere I could spend the rest of my days with the love of my life, lost summer days, cold winter nights, who cares. I shouldn't even be telling anyone about Haraki as it is a treasure I want to keep to myself. However, it is only fair that others get to experience this Greek heaven, with wonderful local people who make it to special. Clearly this is why we have bought an apartment there!
Mr & Mrs Witts
posted on September 19, 2006 by Michael Charles Witts
We made it back to Haraki and had a marvelous time Stephonos's is now called Bottoms up Owned by A Greek Austrailian Lady who answers to Debbie, Debbie and her staff were wonderful food great Large beers cheap what more could anyone want.

Michael & Rosemary Witts
The best and frendliest place I have ever been.
posted on September 16, 2006 by dawn peggs
just got back from a wonderful fortnight in haraki. The best and frendliest place i have ever been. missing it loads. we loved jacks bar best breakfasr you will find. haraki dreams bar for freindliness and good beer and cocktails thankyou micheal.
Da vincis restaurant is superb but all tavernas and restaurants are great. we stayed at castle view apartments which were probably the best we have stayed in all greece. fab holiday hope to return next year.
Fanastic for a place to chill out
posted on September 15, 2006 by Maz n Shug
Haraki is just fanastic for a place to chill out. The locals are so friendly and make you feel so welcome. We spend a week in Haraki and then two weeks in Pefki. Best of both worlds! Going shortly for our three weeks of paradise. Bliss x
Heaven on Earth
posted on September 12, 2006 by Chris & Steve
Stayed in Haraki twice last year and June this year. Looking forward to a two week stay this coming September. It is the most relaxing, chill out place ever. The people are so friendly and really do make you feel welcome. Just a few names -- Nina, Costas & Elena, Mikey, Jacob, Manilos & his family & Jack. Roll on next Wednesday. Just absolutely love Haraki.
Best holiday ever
posted on August 13, 2006 by fiona and kevin
June 2006...best holiday ever! Over from scotland for Paul and Louises wedding we spent many days in Haraki with lovely paula and jack in jacks bar. Wonderful swims in the clear sea punctuated with fab cocktails at jacks! The reception was at jacks bar and we enjoyed unbelievably generous Hospitality. Coming back in october... can't wait!
Haraki
posted on April 19, 2006 by Peter from Austria
Waren voriges Jahr das 1.Mal in Haraki und sind davon begeistert. Spiegelglattes Wasser (ohne die sonst auf Rhodos vorhandenen hohen Wellen), nette Tavernen (beste: im Hotel Haraki Bay!), nette Leute!
Wir kommen 2006 wieder!
We love the place
posted on December 7, 2005 by Jeff Scott
We've been going to Haraki for some 13 years and have booked for September 2006. It is a fantastic resort - very quiet, peaceful and beautiful. As someone else has already said - if you want noise - don't go to Haraki.

My Recommondations in Haraki:

The best bar in my opinion is Jacks - fantastic cocktails - his Root Beer is stronger than it seems! Jacks also does the best breakfasts and crepes!

The best taverna in my opinion - Marias - low price and basic Greek cooking but with very tasty fish dishes and nothing is too much trouble.

Car hire - then visit Simeon at Haraki Car Hire.

If you go - don't miss the castle - a hard climb but worth the effort for the views.

We love the place and don't go anywhere else.
One of the best places
posted on November 24, 2005 by Michael
One of the best places I have ever encountered, Especially Stehonos' scocktail bar.

I sprained my ankle on arrival at the airport but it did not spoil my holiday we hope to back in 2006
Our Second Home!
posted on November 15, 2005 by Sarah and Colin
We have been 3 times to Haraki, and everytime we come home with more friends both Greek and English.

Hopefully we are moving there in the next couple of years, it is truly the best place on earth, I don't want to be in England anymore just out in Haraki with everybody.

Going again on 15 July 2006, counting down the weeks already, can't wait to see everybody.

We surprised everybody in October this year and partied all night.

IF GOD MADE A NICER PLACE WITH NICER PEOPLE HE KEPT IT FOR HIMSELF.
The best vacations!
posted on September 12, 2005 by stella
I live in Rhodes, in the center of the town. every summer, I visit Haraki, witch is my village and I have a GREAT time with my friends! It is the best way to forget school! we don't do anything else exept laughing. it is also close to Lindos, so u can go whenever u like. U can also rent a car if u like to. I really had a great time this summer and I want winter to end, so that I can go back!
Magnetic place
posted on September 3, 2005 by sally/george slater
We have visted haraki several times apart from home it is the only place on earth we would ever return, time and time again. wonderful people, fantastic food, ask Aristos the helpful money changer to book your next visit on line see you there soon!
Wonderful Haraki!
posted on September 2, 2005 by Lindsay East
We returned from Haraki recently after the most wonderful family holiday. We have 2 children (11 and 3) and they had a great time. We sat at the waters edge whilst the children played safely in the lovely clear waters! The bars and the restaurants are great offering really excellent food, in particular Da Vinci's italian restaurant - excellent value for money. In particular, one bar on the front, Haraki Dreams (we think) where a great barman by the name of Costas, worked and was owned by a guy called Mickey! What great hosts! We will definitely go back and will never forget the wonderful warm hospitality shown by Costas and Mickey. Our only bit of advice is simply to go there and experience it all!
A little piece of paradise
posted on June 28, 2005 by june and ian
Our little piece of paradise-after 8 years of visiting we definately have found it!
The best beach
posted on June 13, 2005 by sharon wilson
The best beach on the whole of the island, it is the most beautiful and relaxing place ever!
Family vacation in Haraki
posted on May 7, 2005 by Anonymous
We went to Haraki two years ago with our 3 children and had the most wonderful time. We cannot wait to return there this July. What a beautiful place. Perfect
Fantastic for a relaxing holiday
posted on October 15, 2004 by Marion
We were in Haraki for two weeks in May and again in September. Fantastic for a relaxing holiday. You could virtually hear a pin drop it was so quiet. Great place to chill out. Totally relaxing and definately for those looking for peace and quiet. Locals very friendly. Will be returning next year.
A beautiful setting with the castle ruins as a backdrop
posted on August 20, 2004 by Anne Hyde
We have recently returned from Haraki and what a wonderful time we had.

A beautiful setting with the castle ruins as a backdrop. We travelled with Olympic Holidays and stayed in the Alia 1 studios which were basic but with the trees surrounding the studios, the rooms were not too hot Air conditioning was available at a cost but the rooms did have fans.

Haraki is not for the young looking for a lively resort - only a couple of bars and a few tavernas. The best places to eat we found were Jacks Bar for ice creams and Kiss for excellent burgers / chicken slouvaki. Opposite our studios was a restaurant run by Manolis and Dina (their daughter Demetria was the waitress) was far the best with huge portions of food (try the ribs and pork chops). Out of the 14 nights we were in Haraki, we eat there 9 times - the meals were averaging between 19 - 26 euros for a starter, main meal, a couple of beers and 1/2 caraffe of wine. All the locals eat there so it must be good.
Rhodes' best kept secret
posted on July 28, 2004 by Peter Giles
Haraki is Rhodes' best kept secret. Not really an old fishing village but a summer retreat for the farmers of nearby villages of Malona and Massari from the high temperatures of the summer. The resort virtually "closes" for the winter although locals do gather at Jack's Bar.
Haraki offers a wealth of friendly bars, tavernas and restaurants and all are reasonably priced, although the "euro" has increased prices by as much as 50% since its introduction.
If you want 1000 decibel nightlife then Haraki is not for you. Good food, good company and peace and quiet are the order of the day; the beach, if too stony for many, provides good swimming - snorkelling being very popular. Masks, flippers etc can be purchased cheaply in one of several supermarkets or gift shops.
Check out: Jack's cocktails, Chef Tommy's stuffed Chicken Breast, Zagrafos' klefticos and their neighbours Spare Ribs!!!
Off-season holidays in Haraki - Rhodes
posted on May 28, 2004 by Michael Kluge
We have been coming to Haraki for many years now, preferable in May or October, for our most beloved activity, to drive Enduro. Almost empty streets, clubs and beaches are really enjoyable. We eat and drink the way the locals do. Inexpensive, good and plentiful food. At this time of the year you will find that the waiters and owners still have a very human face and there is plenty of time to have a friendly conversation.
Should you need any help to find your way, just ask for Eugen and his dog Pedro. After being there for 17 years he can help you allot, and even do some translating if necessary.
I wish to all who can avoid the crowded, overfilled beaches and overpriced goods and services a great time in Haraki.
A real sense of greekness
posted on March 23, 2004 by Anonymous
An old fishing village, Haraki has a real sense of greekness and community to it, with the greek children always running up ad down the seafront and the small family run restaurants. There is an excellent pizzeria, as well as an american restaurant and many greek tavernas as well as numerous little souvenir shops. Well worth a visit for a swim in its crystal clear waters, where you can see jumping fish at night. Haraki also has a resident family of about 7 ducks which always appreciate any bread anyone has to spare!
Do you find our website interesting? Join our facebook page and stay informed about news and articles!
Comments, suggestions or questions? contact us
Section quick-links:  overview | monuments | beach guide | places to visit | villages & resorts | sports & recreation
travel with your family | useful contacts | weather information | tips for safe vacations | comments by visitors | rhodes Island Map
features & special events
ABOUT US | TERMS OF USE | PRIVACY POLICY | RESOURCES | GO12ISLANDS | LINKS | ADD HOTEL | CONTACT | ADVERTISE | STATS
© 2003 - 2014 RhodesGuide.com. All rights reserved. Developed by Webland Studios